ISSP Annual Conference 2014

Workshop: SPaRK Sustainability Plan and Reporting Kit (MAR 2013)

 Registration is closed for this event

This workshop meets on-line on Tuesdays (March 5 & 19) at 9AM PT / 10AM MT / 11AM CT / 12PM ET AND Tuesdays (March 12 & 26) at 4PM PT / 5PM MT / 6PM CT / 7PM ET Pacific Time-USA for 60-90 minutes. Time Zone Converter

Special Discounts:
Always:   $75 off for ISSP members.
Time limited:   $50 off with Early Bird Discount through February 26, 2013.

WORKSHOP DESCRIPTION

ISSP’s SPaRK workshop will walk you through the steps of creating a comprehensive sustainability plan: from justification for your sustainability efforts, through impacts assessment and determination of measures. The resulting plan also sets you up for reliable and pain free reporting. At the end of the workshop you will have a “draft” plan and experience applying each of the key steps of the process. As part of the class you will be provided a trial version of the SPaRK tool which is an Excel based file that includes the worksheets and data entry tables for recording your key planning decisions. It also includes a template for recording the results of your sustainability efforts.

Designed for a more interactive experinece, all four webinars are prerecorded yet the live webinar meeting times are organized as a learning lab for participants to ask questions directly to the instructor.  The labs are scheduled at two different times (9AM PT and 4PM PT) over the 4 weeks to accommodate participants in different time zones.

LEARNING OBJECTIVES:

  • Articulate the strategic business case for pursuing sustainability
  • Use accepted frameworks for crafting your personal vision of sustainability
  • Conduct an impacts assessment to identify important areas to manage
  • Develop metrics and a sustainability report template
  • Building a long-term plan with targets and projects
  • Identify necessary support systems to manage your sustainability program

COMPETENCIES:

  • Articulate a business case for sustainability
  • Demonstrate strategic thinking and planning
  • Build and maintain sustainability management systems
  • Create/maintain sustainability reporting
  • Describe continuous improvement (CIP)

WORKSHOP TEXT allow enough time to pre-order this book and to do the pre-work: The Step by Step Guide to Sustainability Planning (not included in registration fee)

Your online workshop experience, from pre-work to deliverable completion, is March 1 through 30.  The workshop is delivered online and via the Internet so you participate from your computer for both the live weekly webinars and for the 24/7 online 'classroom' experience.

APPRECIATION FROM A PARTICIPANT:

"Everything is going well! I've just talked our Chief Academic Officer into starting a major sustainability project using my sustainability plan from Marsha's class!!!! We are steering the ship in the right direction :)"

INSTRUCTOR

Marsha Willard, co-author of The Step by Step Guide to Sustainability Planning, is co-founder and CEO of AXIS Performance Advisors, Inc. a Northwest based consulting firm specializing in helping organizations implement sustainable business practices. She has worked with organizations in both the public and private sector providing training, consulting, facilitation and executive coaching services.  Some of her clients include Monsanto, Bonneville Power Administration, Cascade Corporation, City of Portland, AAA of N. California, Oregon Department of Human Services, Oregon Department of Environmental Quality, Washington Department of Ecology, Oregon Museum of Science and Industry, Wacker Siltronic, Conway Transportation, GreenBlue and the Zero Waste Alliance.

Marsha is also adjunct faculty for several colleges and universities. She teaches classes in sustainability for the University of Oregon, Bainbridge Graduate Institute and has taught at the Presidio Graduate School. In addition she is an associate of the Zero Waste Alliance and a coach and presenter for the Natural Step Network. Marsha is also co-founder and Executive Director for the International Society of Sustainability Professionals.

March 5th, 2013 9:00 AM PT   through   March 26th, 2013 12:00 PM PT
Phone: 206 851 4234
Email:
Early Bird Workshop Rate ($50 off) $ 400.00

Help spread the word

Please help us and let your friends, colleagues and followers know about our page: Workshop: SPaRK Sustainability Plan and Reporting Kit (MAR 2013)


You can also share the below link in an email or on your website.
http://www.sustainabilityprofessionals.org/civicrm/event/info?id=5449&reset=1

About ISSP

Education & Events

Publications

Membership

Resources

Facebook    LinkedIn    Twitter    YouTube

2014 © ISSP. All Rights Reserved