A second group of nominees was inducted into the ISSP Sustainability Hall of Fame at ISSP Conference 2013, held in May of that year in Chicago, Illinois. Since its inauguration in 2011, ISSP's Hall of Fame has served to formally recognize individuals who have made significant contributions to sustainability and to the professionals who dedicate their careers to the field of sustainability. Candidates, nominated by any and every ISSP member, are honored based on their accomplishments in the areas of experience, education, innovation, reach, publication and service to the industry.


The ISSP Hall of Fame acknowledges those people that have contributed the most to the emerging field of sustainability,” says Marsha Willard, ISSP board member and founder. “It honors those that have given their time, their knowledge, their creativity and their hard work to blazing the trail for other professionals to follow.”


Alan AtKisson, President and CEO of AtKisson Group. Alan has helped hundreds of organizations and leaders worldwide develop sustainability strategies, design initiatives, manage complex programs, assess progress, and find better pathways to effective sustainability leadership. He led the creation of the ISIS Accelerator, a comprehensive sustainability toolkit used worldwide by businesses, governments, and educational organizations. He is also the author of several books, has worked in over forty countries, and has given hundreds of inspirational speeches and practical workshops on sustainability innovation and leadership.


John Elkington, Founding Partner & Executive Chairman of Volans, a future-focused business working at the intersection of the sustainability, entrepreneurship and innovation movements. John is also co-founder of SustainAbility, where he remains a non-executive member of the board and of Environmental Data Services. John is recognized as a world authority on corporate responsibility, sustainable development and innovation, and is renowned for introducing the phrase “triple bottom line” into the sustainability lexicon. John has written or co-authored 18 books; his latest, Tomorrow's Bottom Line: The B Team Playbook for Market Gamechangers, will be released in 2013.


Hazel Henderson, Founder of Ethical Markets Media, LLC and the creator and co-executive producer of its TV series. She is an interdisciplinary economist and political theorist and contributor to the creation of the ethical investment industry. Hazel is also a world renowned futurist, a worldwide syndicated columnist, consultant on sustainable development, and author of numerous books. Recently, she has served on the boards of such publications as Futures Research Quarterly, The State of the Future Report, and E/The Environmental Magazine.




L. Hunter Lovins, President and Founder of Natural Capitalism Solutions, which educates senior decision-makers in business, government and civil society to restore and enhance the natural and human capital while increasing prosperity and quality of life. She has co-authored several seminal works in the field, including the ground-breaking book Natural Capitalism: Creating the Next Industrial Revolution and most recently co-wrote The Way Out: Kickstarting Capitalism to Save Our Economic Ass. She has taught sustainable business management at Bard College, Bainbridge Graduate Institute in Seattle, Washington, and Denver University, and was a founding professor at Presidio Graduate School's MBA in Sustainable Management program.



To return to the Hall of Fame main landing page, click here.
To read bios of the 2014 Hall of Fame inductees, click here.
To see the inaugural inductees from 2011, click here.
To learn about the Hall of Fame selection criteria, click here.