Thursdays (April 5, 12, 19, 26) 2012 12PM PT | 1PM MT | 2PM CT | 3PM ET | 9PM CET | 7PM GMT Time Zone Converter

Special Discounts:

Always:  $75 off for ISSP members.

Time limited:  $50 off with Early Bird Discount before March 30, 2012.

This course will guide practitioners through the jungle of sustainability techniques and change processes, and help you learn when and how to apply them successfully. Using the ISIS Method (Indicators | Systems | Innovation | Strategy) as a guiding structure and sequence, you will deepen your understanding of these general methodological categories, as well as specific sustainability tools, with AtKisson's ISIS Accelerator tools in focus. You will begin to apply both the ISIS Method and a variety of tools you select (from the Accelerator suite) to develop a sustainability project or initiative, and will work to produce a detailed strategic action plan.  You will dig into case studies, examine the inner workings of selected tools, and consider the ethical dimension of strategy development. 

On completion of the course, participants will have received a thorough orientation to the art of Sustainability Change Agentry and be eligible to apply for recognition as a Certified Practitioner of the ISIS Method and ISIS Accelerator tools. 

Webinar topics:

1. Indicators plus introduction to the ISIS Method and ISIS Accelerator

2. Systems: Leverage Points; Mapping; Key Indicators

3. Innovations: their diffusion potential

4. Strategy for Sustainability

Instructor Biography

Alan AtKisson has been working at the forefront of sustainability for over twenty years; and he has helped to initiate, guide, train, or strategically develop sustainability initiatives in many different countries. As a consultant, he has worked with clients in many different sectors as well, from small businesses to global corporations, from large cities to small islands, from UN and World Bank funded programs in Africa to US military bases. He is the author of two books, Believing Cassandra: An Optimist Looks at a Pessimist's World (Chelsea Green, 1999); and The Sustainability Transformation: How to Accelerate Positive Change in Challenging Times (Earthscan 2011) - which is the required text for this course. He is a contributing author to several other books as well, including The Natural Advantage of Nations (Earthscan, 2006) and The Future of Sustainability (Springer, 2006). His articles and essays have been widely published in magazines, academic journals, and websites.

 

Alan AtKisson Profile

Taxonomy upgrade extras: