How are Inductees Chosen?

A place in the ISSP Sustainability Hall of Fame, formerly the ISSP Pinnacle Award, is an honor granted to sustainability professionals by their peers.  Membership in the ISSP Sustainability Hall of Fame is based on a person's leadership in the sustainability field.  The intent is to identify and honor those who, through service, research, innovation, advancement of the case for sustainability, participation in the adoption of sustainability in sectors or regions, and/or contribution to the definition of the profession, have significantly advanced the effort to make sustainability standard practice.


The specific criteria are:


  1. Experience: The individual has been working in the sustainability field for a number of years and has developed a reputation for expertise.
  2. Education: The individual promotes sustainability through teaching and/or speaking.
  3. Innovation: The individual has developed tools, models, products, or processes that contribute to the adoption or implementation of sustainability.
  4. Reach: The individual has had an impact on a significant number of individuals of organizations in terms of advancing sustainability.
  5. Publications: The individual has contributed to the body of knowledge in sustainability through the publication of books, articles and/or research.
  6. Service: The individual contributes time and expertise to the advancement of the sustainability profession, the development of people working in the field, or the adoption of sustainability in organizations and/or communities.


Once per year, all members of ISSP are invited to submit their suggestions of individuals who meet the above criteria for ISSP Sustainability Hall of Fame nominees.  The nomination form includes a place to provide a short rationale for each nomination.  Once the nomination period has closed, the ISSP Leadership Team narrows the list to the finalists that most closely meet the criteria listed above.  The final slate of candidates is then presented to the ISSP Board for final selection through a balloting process.  Finally, ISSP Sustainability Hall of Fame inductees are invited to the annual ISSP Conference in the fall, where they formally receive the award on the second day of the conference.


Click here to see the most recent cohort.  We are currently accepting nominations for the 2019 Sustainability Hall of Fame.


“All of the finalists are certainly giants in the field of sustainability, whose shoulders we all stand on as a profession,” says Marsha Willard, ISSP board member and founder. “Establishment of the ISSP Sustainability Hall of Fame reflects the continued evolution of the sustainability field, and sets a high standard for those who will come after us.”


To return to the Hall of Fame main landing page, click here.
To see the most recent 2014 Hall of Fame inductees, click here.
To read bios of the 2013 Hall of Fame inductees, click here.
To see the inaugural inductees from 2011, click here.